Therapy on the Water

For many people the idea of therapy might involve a couch and talking or maybe physical trainers and coordinated movements. Where there is introspection and hard work to see success.

Today, I worked with a teenager who has impaired balance and movement on a Stand-up Paddle Board. We talked about other activities and coaches that work with him, and I began to see the schedule and dedication to these activities was very structured. While Stand-up Paddle Boarding requires coordination, balance and movement, it also allows the paddler shape and express his or her-self on the the water. The freedom that I saw this young teenager express was amazing. We worked on paddling and turning, but most of what he wanted to do most was lie back on the board and just float. I called it meditation but he said “I’m just not worrying”.

I think the really great thing about water is that while its always confined, it also shapes what confines it. I hope while this youngster works to rehabilitate his balance and movement that he finds a way to shape his world through Stand-up Paddle Boarding.

Im looking forward to see how I can help more people with the use of a Stand-up Paddle Board.

About Florida Boarder

I live for adventure, friends, wind and water. The mix and the parts change but the results are the same.

Posted on November 21, 2011, in Stand-up Paddle Boarding and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I was able to recover from a DISLOCATED ANKLE with the therapy that SUPing provides. Great way to retrain my proprioceptors that had been ruined from my injury. I did traditional Physical Therapy indoors which was helpful, but it was the Stand Up Paddleboarding that made the most improvement.

Leave a comment